Skip navigation

Virtual Town Hall | Digital Democracy in an age of increased authoritarianism, a talk with Audrey Tang

Join us on August 5th, at 5.30 pm Taipei Time (12.30 pm Nairobi Time, 11.30 am Paris Time, 10.30 am London Time) for a Virtual Town Hall with Audrey Tang, Taiwan's digital minister!

In recent month, countries across the world have cracked down on rights and liberties to "deal with" COVID-19, and China has given a final blow to democracy in Hong Kong. As such, understanding how to best use digital democracy tools to advance the pro-democracy struggle is more important than ever. Throughout the event, we will discuss how people can best use technology to advance democracy, Taiwan's major advancements on digital democracy, and what the world could learn from it! 

About Audrey Tang: Audrey Tang is a free software programmer and civic hacker-turned-Digital Minister. Indeed, in August 2016, she was invited to join the government as a minister without portfolio and became Taiwan's digital minister in October 2016. With her team, Tang is working on youth engagement, battling misinformation and using tech to respond to the coronavirus outbreak, while constantly innovating how to do politics and linking with citizens.

Format: 60 minutes virtual meeting, live-streamed on our Facebook page: 1) 30 minutes of questions and discussions, then 2) 30 minutes of Q&A from the audience. You will be able to follow the event and ask any questions you may have online on Facebook on NOW!'s page. 

P.S.: here is the link to the Facebook event.

WHEN
August 05, 2020 at 5:30pm - 6:30pm
WHERE
Online
Taipei
Taiwan
Google map and directions
CONTACT
NOW! ·
94 RSVPS
Arl Kauffman Akiko Shiono Marco del Ciello Tzy-Ping Chen Lucy Gunn Jia min Lee Rebecca Bonello Ghio Jesse Duffield Trevor Langford Rico Chan Chia-Jung Jao Paola Berta Andrea Boscolo Ikuo Kamei Salina Kuo Kai Chun Yip Séana Ómra NicPháidín Cinzia Tegoni Alessandro Mason Michele Riva Janie Lai Aurora Chang Martina Nesi Karen Wong Claudio Lanza Clara von der Ropp Laura Giani Andrea Venzon Colombe Cahen-Salvador

Will you come?

In accordance with NOW's privacy policy, you will receive emails from NOW!. You can unsubscribe at any moment

Showing 29 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.