Skip navigation

Digital town hall | The future of pandemics with Dr. Swaminathan, Chief Scientist at WHO

Join us on April 29th (at 6 pm Geneva Time / 12 pm New York Time ) for a digital town hall with Dr. Soumya Swaminathan, Chief Scientist and Executive Director of the World Health Organization

Amid the Coronavirus outbreak, the World Health Organization has found itself wrestling with one of the most challenging periods since its creation. As the crisis unfolds, we have witnessed geopolitical tension and countries' inability to cooperate, in the midst of an incredibly aggressive virus. We will thus hear from Dr. Swaminathan about her take on what awaits us with COVID-19. Then, the talk will tackle the future of pandemics preventions, and the lessons learned from the handling of the Coronavirus crisis. Finally, we will discuss controversies that have plagued the WHO in recent weeks, from accusations of Sino-influence in the work of the Organization, the barring of Taiwan from engaging in meetings, and finally to President Trump’s withdrawal of funding.

Soumya Swaminathan is Chief Scientist and Executive Director at the World Health Organization in Geneva, Switzerland. She leads the Science Division, which ensures that W.H.O. harnesses the power of science and innovation to improve global health and deliver impact at country level. The Division produces cutting-edge research for health, conducts quality assurance for norms and standards, and leverages digital technologies to improve health outcomes. 

When: On April 29th, join us at 6 pm Geneva Time / 12 pm New York Time

Format: 60 minutes on zoom and broadcasted on social media: 1) 30 minutes of questions and discussions, then 2) 30 minutes of Q&A from the audience. You will receive the link to participate as soon as you confirm your attendance by filling the form!

P.S.: here is the link to the Facebook event!

April 29, 2020 at 6pm - 7pm
Avenue Appia 20
Geneva 1202
Google map and directions
NOW! ·
Julius Lajtha Omar Cueria Simon Bail Gilles Cahen-Salvador Cristian Gori Sanjay Nithiyanantham Clara von der Ropp gunilla zamboni Maurizio Raina Mirto Basakidou Emilio Ergueta Frank Yan Dominic Altstädter Stephen Kiboi Anita Seprenyi Andrew Auruku Kate Antrobus Anna Vu Martyna Azl Marco del Ciello carla enrica foglia Emanuele Degortes Alessandro Mason Feyza Ustuner Eya Chhaider Meaghan Ramsey Tasha Young Carla Paquin Elena Fabritius Nienke Vennik Nudhara Yusuf Colombe Cahen-Salvador Armelle Duvieusart Alberto Colautti Monica Richards Linda Hassaine Myriam Lassoued Simone Pilloni Martina Tesseri Riccardo Moretti Annita Papa Andrea Arosio Rebecca Marcone Laura Giani Andrea Venzon

Will you come?

In accordance with NOW's privacy policy, you will receive emails from NOW!. You can unsubscribe at any moment

Showing 46 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.