Skip navigation

Digital town hall | The struggle for freedom, a talk with Joshua Wong!

Join us on April 22nd (at 1 pm Central European Time / 7 pm Hong Kong Time) for a digital town hall with Joshua Wong about the struggle for freedom and democracy in the post-COVID19 world.

While it is impossible to summarize Joshua's work and courage in a couple of lines, he is a Hong Kong pro-democracy activist. He was one of the leaders of the 2014 Occupy Movement, and also played a major role in persuading US politicians to pass the Hong Kong Human Rights and Democracy Act during the 2019 Hong Kong protests. He was disqualified by the Hong Kong government from running in the District Council elections in 2019. He is the Secretary-General of Demosistō. 

Incidentally, Joshua was also the first prominent figure to share NOW!'s message after the launch and has been a constant source of inspiration for our team.

Colombe and Andrea (NOW!'s co-executive directors) will be discussing with him his personal story and work for democracy, brainstorming as to how we can support such struggles across the world, the role of countries and supranational organisations in doing so and how people should unite across the world for such key topics. Such fundamental questions are key and necessary to shape a world based on freedom and democracy in the post Coronavirus world.

When: On April 22nd, join us at 1 pm Central European Time / 7 pm Hong Kong Time

Format: 60 minutes on zoom and broadcasted on social media: 1) 30 minutes of questions and discussions with Joshua, then 2) 30 minutes of questions from the audience. You will receive the link to participate as soon as you confirm your attendance by filling the form!


P.S.: here is the link to the Facebook event!

April 22, 2020 at 1pm - 2pm
18 Harbour Rd
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island
Hong Kong
Google map and directions
NOW! ·
Kathy Lai Jeff Pang Joyce Tang Patricia Auyeung Cheukling Tang Wc Lai wi y Claudio Lanza Ziad Al-Ziadi Alexej Silenko Ega Rosalina Victor Li carla enrica foglia Lorenzo Romor Heidi Lee Clara von der Ropp Cristian Gori Constance Dumont Cc Chow Wing Sze Wong Marco Spreafico Patrizia De Grazia Marco del Ciello Nathaly Camargo Simon Bail Giulia Secci Veronica Anti Veronica Piermarini Martina Bonanno Fernando Martín Aráoz Alice Rizzo Monica Richards François de Froment Erika Puntillo Nourchene Ben Chaabene Achref Karoui Lilia Khazri Jacob Sienar Laure Berling Brilliant Nyambi Lison Laissus Mirco Orsolin Cinzia Tegoni Gabriel Lazazzara Federico Lombardi Samuele Bacci Paolo Venzon Jennifer Eagleton

Will you come?

In accordance with NOW's privacy policy, you will receive emails from NOW!. You can unsubscribe at any moment

Showing 90 reactions