Skip navigation

Virtual Town Hall | Racism is not just an 'American Problem', a talk with Fatima Zaman

Join us on June 10th, at 5 pm London Time (6 pm Brussels Time, 12 pm New York Time) for a Virtual Town Hall with Fatima Zaman.

We will discuss the outcry for racial justice that is crossing the world after George Floyd's murder, looking at it from a global perspective. Racism is often labelled as “an American problem.” Yet:
📍In Brazil, 80% of those killed in police operations were Black or Brown.
📍In France, young men perceived as black or Arab in particular are 20 times more likely to be stopped by the police than the rest of the population.
Systematic racist state violence needs to be stopped, and it needs to be done now. Join the discussion to understand what we can and should all do.

About Fatima Zaman: Fatima Zaman is currently an advocate at the Kofi Annan Foundation, and a member of the inaugural cohort of Obama Foundation scholars.

Format: 60 minutes on zoom and broadcasted on social media: 1) 30 minutes of questions and discussions, then 2) 30 minutes of Q&A from the audience. You will receive the link to participate as soon as you confirm your attendance by filling the form!

P.S.: here is the link to the Facebook event.

WHEN
June 10, 2020 at 5pm - 6pm
WHERE
Online
London, England
United Kingdom
Google map and directions
CONTACT
NOW! ·
35 RSVPS
Nadine Mendes Flora Johnston Clara Zettelmeyer Julius Lajtha Lilia Khazri Clara von der Ropp Niklas Borg Elena Fabritius Andrea Arosio Juan Monterrey Rebecca Marcone Annita Papa Samiya Haque Laura Giani Anna Mosconi Andrea Venzon Colombe Cahen-Salvador

Will you come?

In accordance with NOW's privacy policy, you will receive emails from NOW!. You can unsubscribe at any moment

Showing 18 reactions