Skip navigation

Virtual Town Hall | Stewart McDonald MP on the threat posed by authoritarianism to freedom of expression

Join us on December 9th, at 2 pm London Time (9 am New York Time, 5 pm Nairobi Time, 9 pm Hanoi Time 10 pm Hong Kong Time) for a virtual town hall with Stewart McDonald MP, a prominent Scottish politician, member of the Foreign Affair Committee and SNP's spokesperson on Defence, who has been very active on supporting the Hong Kong community in his constituency and in the UK.

As China intensifies its crackdown on pro-democracy activists in Hong Kong, and other authoritarian regimes increase their control over their people, freedom of speech is starting to be threatened also in democracies around the world. For example, from Australia to Scotland, some of the most renowned cases of censorship have taken place in higher education, where Confucius Institutes have created controversies with Chinese and non-Chinese students critical of the Communist regime.

Join us for this virtual town hall to hear from Stewart about the importance of protecting freedom of speech from authoritarian states in Scotland, UK, as around the world. We will of course discuss what we can all do to support struggles for freedom as well, and how our Wave of Freedom campaign to create an international coalition to protect & innovate democracy can be instrumental on this front!

RSVP on the form to join us, and remember: Together, united, we cannot be defeated!

P.S.: here is the link to the Facebook event to invite all your friends

WHEN
December 09, 2020 at 2pm - 3pm
WHERE
Online
Glasgow, Scotland
United Kingdom
Google map and directions
CONTACT
NOW! ·
20 RSVPS
Andrea Arosio Laura Ritchie Laura Giani Claudio Lanza John Vlasto Damiano Piantoni Colombe Cahen-Salvador Dhoha Ayed Andrea Venzon

Will you come?

In accordance with NOW's privacy policy, you will receive emails from NOW!. You can unsubscribe at any moment

Showing 9 reactions